40th Annual Farm Women’s Conference & Awards

The 40th Annual Farm Women’s Conference will be held at the Athabasca Regional Multiplex on February 8th 2024 from 9am-4pm. Athabasca County’s Agriculture Services Board and the Farm Women’s Conference Planning Committee are happy to request submissions to nominate a Pioneer Farm Woman and/or a Modern Farm Woman. These awards are unique to our event and we look forward to honouring this tradition. The planning committee will pay tribute to two nominations from each category for the 2023 Awards. Criteria for these awards are listed on the nomination forms.

About the Event

Each year since 1987 Athabasca County has supported the work of the Farm Women’s Committee to host the Farm Woman of the Year awards. In 2009 a change took place that saw the creation of separate awards for a Modern Farm Woman and Pioneer Farm Woman. The Farm Women’s Awards and Conference is the event at which the awards are presented annually. The event is hosted in a different community each year to give women in all of our region a chance to attend. We are fortunate to have the support of many community and business partners who each year help us to make the event memorable, entertaining and educational.

2024 Sponsors


How to Nominate Someone

The nominee must be a resident of the Athabasca County. If nominated as a Modern Farm Woman of the Year she must be presently living and working on a farm. If nominated as a Pioneer Farm Woman the nominee must have been full-time farming within Athabasca County. The nominee must not be a member of the present Athabasca County Farm Women’s Conference Organizing Committee. The nominee must not be a previous Farm Woman of the Year Award recipient. The winner plus the winner’s nominator will each receive (1) complimentary ticket to the annual Farm Women’s Conference.

Nomination Forms

To facilitate the work of the selection committee, it is essential to use the format of the Online Nomination Form, or the Printed Nomination Form (PDF) in completing your nomination. Each area of the nomination form must be completed in concise point form (storyline format will NOT be accepted). If printing and submitting a nomination please type or print when completing the form. Additional paper may be used. Nominations not selected will be considered for three conferences from the time of receipt, with the permission of the nominator each year.

Submitting Your Nomination

Completed nomination forms can also be mailed or faxed to: Farm Woman of the Year Award Athabasca County 3602 – 48 Avenue ATHABASCA, AB T9S 1M8 Fax: (780) 675-5512 Thank you for supporting our efforts to recognize the exceptional work that takes place in our region by rural women!

Congratulations to the 2023 recipients!



Casey Morey

Modern Farm Woman of the Year

                                VIEW FULL PROFILE   

Violet Bandola

Pioneer Farm Woman of the Year