Municipal Elections will take place in Alberta on October 18, 2021. The nomination period for those interested in running for Councillor is now open from January 1 to September 20, 2021, at noon.



Those interested in running must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • be at least 18 years old
  • reside in Athabasca County on Election Day
  • reside in Athabasca County six months before Nomination Day

Vacancies (9)

Division 1 – One Councillor

Division 2 – One Councillor

Division 3 – One Councillor

Division 4 – One Councillor

Division 5 – One Councillor

Division 6 – One Councillor

Division 7 – One Councillor

Division 8 – One Councillor

Division 9 – One Councillor

Nomination Papers

Nomination papers for the position of Councillor, and other related information, can be obtained electronically by clicking on the button below.



For more information about being a Councillor and the Municipal Election refer to the links below:

> Rural Municipalities of Alberta – Running for Municipal Office

> What Every Councillor Needs to Know

> Women Running for Municipal Office

> Municipal Government Act

> Local Authorities Election Act

> Divisional Boundaries Map


If you require further information, or have questions, please contact returning officer Leah Blair.

780-675-2273  |