Reeve and Deputy Reeve appointed

Organizational Meeting held on October 14, 2015

Athabasca, AB – Athabasca County Council held its Annual Organizational Meeting to help continue its work on behalf of ratepayers in the municipality.

PHOTO – Athabasca County’s CAO Ryan Maier conducts the swearing in ceremony with Reeve Doris Splane (left) and Deputy Reeve Warren Griffin (right) as part of an annual Organizational Meeting held this morning in Athabasca County Council Chambers.

The meeting is the time when individual Councilors are nominated for positions on County Committees and regional commissions and also serves as the occasion when the Reeve and Deputy Reeve are chosen by their peers according to guidelines set out in the Municipal Government Act (MGA).

The results of the nomination process for these positions are as follows:

    Reeve – Doris Splane (by acclamation)

    Deputy Reeve – Warren Griffin (by acclamation)

Congratulations to all members of Council on their appointments and for their dedication to the County.