Covid-19 Business Support

Covid-19 Business Support & Recovery Outreach Initiative

The following information and list of resources has been assembled for Athabasca businesses that require assistance in managing the hardships and challenges caused by the COVID 19 pandemic.

Municipal Programs

ATHABASCA COUNTY and the TED COMMITTEE (in partnership with ATB Entrepreneurship Centre, the Athabasca and Boyle Chambers of Commerce will deliver a series of virtual business workshops and webinars locally (starting late April) in the following areas:

  • Crowd Funding, Cash flow & Tax roll back.
  • Business Accelerator Program and Rural pop-up strategies.
  • Funding for Arts-Culture-Non-Profits & Indigenous partnerships.
  • Business & Agriculture entrepreneurship strategies.
  • Succession planning, HR issues and mental health.
  • Funding for Business technology development and Innovation

Click on the link below for a  free Business Interruption and Recovery Toolkit

VIEW TOOLKIT

Provincial Programs

Alberta Income Support Program https://www.alberta.ca/income-support.aspx

Alberta Government Small Business Resources https://www.alberta.ca/small-business-resources.aspx

Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development https://www.afrea.ab.ca/alberta-agriculture-and-rural-development

Development funding programs. http://www.iae.alberta.ca/media/324115/funding-programs-community-regional-economic-development.pdf

Funding for innovation start-ups at Alberta Innovates ; https://albertainnovates.ca/

Alberta’s Layoff & Recall Directive: https://www.alberta.ca/Layoff-and-recall-directive.aspx

COVID-19 Updates from Government for Albertans: https://www.alberta.ca/coronavirus-info-for-albertans.aspx

Government of Alberta – COVID-19: Support for Albertans: https://www.alberta.ca/covid-19-supports-for-albertans.aspx

Government of Alberta – COVID-19 Support for employers and employees: https://www.alberta.ca/covid-19-support-for-employers.aspx

Help Prevent the Spread: https://www.alberta.ca/prevent-the-spread.aspx

Travel Advice: https://www.alberta.ca/covid-19-travel-advice.aspx

How to Self-Isolate:  https://www.alberta.ca/self-isolation.aspx

Cases in Alberta: https://www.alberta.ca/covid-19-alberta-data.aspx

Federal Programs

Wage Subsidy for Businesses: https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/campaigns/covid-19-update/frequently-asked-questions-wage-subsidy-small-businesses.html

Supports for small businesses: http://canada.ca/covid-19-business

Canada’s COVID-19 Economic Response Plan assistance for Canadians & Businesses: https://www.canada.ca/en/department-finance/news/2020/03/canadas-covid-19-economic-response-plan-support-for-canadians-and-businesses.html#Flexibility_for_Tax-filers

Work-share/lay-off avoidance Program: https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/services/work-sharing.html

Employment Insurance Program: https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/ei.html

Employment Rules for Layoffs and Terminations: https://www.alberta.ca/temporary-layoffs.aspx

Community Futures Business Continuity Workbook https://www.communityfutures.ca/sites/default/files/business-continuity-workbook-2019-web.pdf

Advisory Services to Businesses – loans to small and medium-sized businesses, self-employment assistance programs and services targeted to youth and entrepreneurs with disabilities. www.wd.gc.ca/eng/4897.asp

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC); http://www.agr.gc.ca/eng/agriculture-and-agri-food-canada/?id=1395690825741

Funding for Aboriginal Economic Development Projects: http://www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/eng/1100100014444

The Aboriginal Canada Funding Portal http://www.aboriginalcanada.gc.ca/acp/site.nsf/eng/funding.html

Canada’s Economic Response Plan: http://www.canada.ca/en/department-finance/economic-response-plan.html#business

For ongoing general Federal updates: http://www.canada.ca

Call to Action for Manufacturers: https://www.canada.ca/en/services/business/maintaingrowimprovebusiness/manufacturers-needed.html

Other Valuable Resources

COVID Employment Insurance Claims can be made by calling 1-833-381- 2725

The Business Link business assistance and advisory services: https://businesslink.ca/

Federation of Canadian Municipalities provides a Disaster Management and Reconstruction initiative. For more information www.fcm.ca

Athabasca Chamber of Commerce: https://www.athabascachamber.org/

The Canadian Chamber of Commerce: http://www.chamber.ca/

The Economic Developers Association of Alberta offers businesses helpful information and webinars: http://www.edaalberta.ca/

Business Directory & Contact List

We are creating a business directory and contact list that will help us share business related information with local businesses during and after the COVID-19 pandemic.

SIGN UP NOW

For further information and assistance please contact:

LUKE PANTIN

Tourism and Economic Development (Athabasca County):

780-675-6633 | tedadmin@athabascacounty.com